top of page
Search
  • Nabeeha Ali

IMD3901: Milestone 7

Beta Presentation!


This week, our group was primarily focused on putting all our pieces together in order to have a functioning walkthrough for our beta presentation. The designers of our group exported their models and the programmers implemented the models in the scenes, creating a slightly comprehensive look and feel to all the environments.


Challenges


The main challenge I faced was trying to figure out the cutoff point for what could be presentable for our beta presentation. I found that as I was working on developing the land scenes, I was constantly getting ideas on ways to improve the environments and attempted to implement those last-minute changes to get more functionality working. Unfortunately, this often led to me breaking other components that were previously working. An example of this was when I decided that positional audio would help improve the learning experience for Mohawk artifacts, but this feature became a problem when implemented in other scenes, so I tried to get it working at least in the pre-contact era so that the concept could still be explained through the demo. I ended up undoing many of my latest changes and kept them in the code as comments to come back to later.



Successes


The success I had this week was getting all of the land scenes fairly decorated. Looking back on the beta presentation and how much other groups were able to complete, I was really glad I took the extra time to get a little bit of something in each scene so that the Iohahi:io students would get a basic idea on how their ideas are coming to life. Thanks to the subtle animations and the extra models that our designers put extra time into in order to get some last-minute artifacts in the scenes, we were able to depict the rough look and feel for each time period.


Below is a video demo of all the land environments with the basic basket functionality added.




Next Steps


The next step for me is to start adding the remaining artifacts in the other time periods. This will require a lot of work in the basket functionality as I want to try and keep everything in the same javascript file, and making the overall code as efficient as possible. After that, the basket will need to be added to the canoe scene, which may prove to be a little challenging as it may interfere with the interactions that are already built into that scene.



Number of Hours Spent: 17

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page