top of page
Search
  • Nabeeha Ali

IMD3901: Milestone 6

Beta Preparation


This week, we have been trying our best to do everything we can to have everything ready for our beta presentation. For our group, this means taking the time to look over what everyone has done and start merging things together. We have been meeting more frequently to make sure we are all on track for this deadline.



Challenges


On my end, I would say for the first time, I did not have many challenges to face. Though I was tasked with one of the larger aspects of this project since the components that the Iohahi:io students wanted to feature have to do with user interactions on land, I was able to implement the features we had in mind with full functionality. I would say that since my mind has been very focused on making things functional rather than well designed, I have struggled with fine-tuning the environment to make it visually pleasing. I guess this is when the designers of the group can come and help me with this one!



Successes


The success I had this week was being able to get everything done in time for beta. This included finally getting an inventory system working in our basket feature and adjusting the visual feedback such as the gradual change from day to night and counting the number of objects selected. I was also able to work on the animations for the sky and play around with different easing elements to see which type of animation would make the sky flow seamlessly. I found that the easeInandOutQuad version made it look best, but it is still something I will continue to experiment with.


Below is a video walkthrough of the user interactions on land.



Next Steps


The next step is for our group to meet up and begin merging our code and 3D models together. This will help us develop a good base that we can present for beta. I will need to create two more scenes for the remaining time periods, however, it should be relatively simple since I already have most of the components, only the basket feature will need some touchups.



Number of Hours Spent: 7

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page