top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureethansndrmc

IMD3901: Milestone 10

Overview

This week, we finally wrapped up our term project. There was a ton of work from everyone put into this project, and it really shows. Everything came together and I think that the final project looks excellent. I believe that I was able to utilize a lot of the development skills that I've honed through school projects and co-op to find effective solutions to problems during the project's development.


Challenges

Looking back at the project I think at the start the main challenge we faced as a team was thinking about how we would accomplish everything within the original scope presented in the student's proposal. Thankfully, after meeting with the students and discussing the project as a team, we were able to find a way to adjust the project scope to be feasible for our timeframe.


As for challenges that I specifically dealt with, much of my struggles were due to finding solutions for a-frame. While the a-frame community is fairly large for a relatively niche framework, many of the solutions for problems that I encountered were outdated, and required a fair amount of research and trial and error to get working in our version of a-frame. In particular, the implementing a nav-mesh system required implementing the nav-mash component and some deprecated Three.JS functions from CDN. Otherwise, much of the problems were simple bugfixes that just took time to address.


Successes

As mentioned before, I was able to implement a lot of the features I had hoped to for the project. Features like the nav-mesh, water animation, and thanksgiving scene transition system all took some unique problem solving to get working, but I managed to see it through and successfully get them working for our project.


Looking at our successes as a team, I think we did great on piecing our individual work together. While it did take some effort, combining the code, models and scenes that we had all built together, I think the end result is a project that is very consistent in quality throughout the entire experience.


Media

Here is a screenshot of the thanksgiving address scene, the final scene that I developed:

Next steps:

Sleep and show off our project to the students.


Total hours spent: 72 hrs

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page